Israel adds travelers from five European countries to coronavirus quarantine list

Israel on Wednesday ordered a two-week quarantine of people arriving from France, Germany, Spain, Austria and Switzerland due to fears of coronavirus, after imposing similar measures on Italy and several Asian states.

“We are at the top of a global epidemic,” said Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu when he announced the latest travel bans.

“We are in a better situation than other countries because … we have taken strict, very strict measures to slow the spread of the virus,” he added.

Israel currently has 15 confirmed cases of the virus but no deaths, and some 7,000 others are already under home quarantine.

The Jewish state had previously issued quarantine instructions for all arrivals from mainland China, Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore, Macao, South Korea, Japan and Italy.

In Monday’s election, thousands of quarantined people voted in special polling stations with officials in full protective gear.

The health ministry on Wednesday ordered a ban on public gatherings of more than 5,000 people.