The European Commission recommends that internal border controls be abolished by 15 June

The European Executive voted on Thursday to abolish all EU border restrictions by June 15. Brussels is also open to the EU’s external borders from 1 July to travelers from the Western Balkans.

The abolition of borders is a decision that falls to the states, but the European Commission wanted to make recommendations on Thursday, June 11. The EU executive recommends that “all restrictions” introduced to combat the coronavirus pandemic be lifted from June 15. Some countries, such as Italy, have already reopened their borders.

The European Executive considers that from 1your Travelers from the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Northern Macedonia, Serbia) must be approved in the Union in July, as the epidemiological situation in these countries is “similar or better” to that of the EU.

On the other hand, Brussels called on the Member States to agree on a list of third countries for which restrictions would also be lifted, depending on their health situation.

The ban on “non-essential” travel to the EU was introduced on 17 March, in a coordinated manner between Member States and the European Commission to combat the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic.

With AFP